How To Set Google Doc Sharing Permissions For Student Privacy

Set Google Doc Sharing Permissions

If you’re a student who relies on Google Docs to stay organized, you’re probably concerned with your privacy. When you share a Google Doc with a coworker, teacher, or classmate, you may not realize that your privacy will be compromised. You may be sharing too much information, and not enough control over who can access your to-do list or homework. So, let’s check out how to set sharing permissions on Google Docs so you can be sure that only the people you want can see your documents.

As a student, you may have a lot of information that is crucial to your success in college and a lot of information that is essential to your success in life. School work is certainly important, but it’s not the only important thing. Some students who feel that they have too much work to do on school computers worry that their work will somehow be stolen or plagiarized. This article will help you to set up the correct permissions on a Google Doc to prevent that from happening.

Set permissions for sharing Google documents to ensure student privacy.

Teach Thought Staff

While word processing and file sharing via the cloud are a boon to the modern classroom, they also potentially bring new challenges.

While access to technology at home, the availability of WiFi at school, Big Data, draconian district filters, and more can get in the way of your efforts to use technology in the classroom, protecting student privacy and document integrity (i.e., preventing original files from being altered when they shouldn’t be) are high on the list of concerns.

Set permissions for sharing Google documents to ensure student privacy.

That’s where this visual illustration by Sylvia Duckworth comes in handy. Learn how to set up Google Document sharing and privacy to keep information in the classroom and teach your students to be responsible digital citizens.

How can I share files privately?

Click on the file in Google Drive and select the share option. If you select people and enter an email address, the file is sent directly to that person. Press the down arrow to check their permissions. Review allows you to make no changes, Comment allows you to make suggestions but no changes, and Edit allows you to collaborate and make changes.

If you choose to share a file using the Get Link to Share feature, you can also determine the extent to which the file is shared. Here are some of the available options (they may vary depending on the type of Google account you have):

  • To – Public on the Internet : Anyone can do a Google search and access your file without logging into their Google account.
  • To – Any person who has a connection : Anyone with a link can open your file without logging into their Google account.
  • We are your domain: If you use a Google Account at work or school, anyone signed in to your account at work or school can find and access your file.
  • About – Anyone on your domain who has a link: If you use a Google account at work or school, anyone who signs into your account at work or school can access your file if they have a link.
  • There are people out there: Only the people you share the file with have access to it.

Stop sharing and deleting files

In the Advanced link, click Delete and enter the name of the person you no longer want to share information with before saving.

If you delete a file that belongs to you, other people can still view it, comment on it, edit it, or make a copy of it until it is permanently deleted. To do this, click on the file in the Recycle Bin and then click Delete Permanently.

If you delete a shared file that is not yours, the file is removed from your private drive, but others with access can view it.

For more information about sharing permissions for Google Docs, see the official Google Help page, Setting file sharing permissions for Google Docs.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do you change sharing permissions on Google Docs?

To change sharing permissions on Google Docs, follow these steps: Open the document you want to share. Click on the three dots in the top right corner of the document. Select “Share.” Choose who can view and edit your document from the drop-down menu. How do you change sharing permissions on Google Sheets? To change sharing permissions on Google Sheets, follow these steps:

Open the document you want to share. Click on the three dots in the top right corner of the document. Select “Share.” Choose who can view and edit your document from the drop-down menu. How do you change sharing permissions on Google Slides? To change sharing permissions on Google Slides, follow these steps:

Open the document you want to share. Click on the three dots in the top right corner of the document. Select “Share.” Choose who can view and edit your document from the drop-down menu. How do you change sharing permissions on Google Forms? To change sharing permissions on Google Forms, follow these steps:

Open the document you want to share. Click on the three dots in the top right corner of the document. Select “Share.” Choose who can view and edit your document from the drop-down menu. How do you change sharing permissions on Google Sites? To change sharing permissions on Google Sites, follow these steps:

Can teachers see if you shared a Google Doc?

No, teachers cannot see if you shared a Google Doc.

When sharing directly with a person or people you can give permission to in Google Docs?

You can share with a person or people you have given permission to in Google Docs.

 

About the Author: Prateek

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *